Sketchnotes in lockdown

Mat Rutherford
2 min readFeb 3, 2021

--

For as long as I can remember I’ve always enjoyed drawing and sketching and I always grab a pen and incorporate it into my day-to-day job whenever I can.

Back in the middle of last year when Sydney was in full lockdown I decided to start sketchnoting our weekly company updates, well, what else was I going to do?!

I find the very act of drawing makes everything discussed much more ‘sticky’ and my recall improves significantly. A trick I’ve used at many conferences.

I shared these sketches with the rest of the company where they got great feedback and my colleagues actually referred to them when they needed to reference a session (rather than listen to the recording again). Unfortunately, I only managed to do a handful, I just got too busy.

Obviously, numbers and other sensitive subjects were discussed so I have redacted those where appropriate.

Let me know what you think or share some of your sketchnotes with me.

--

--

Mat Rutherford

UXer/Traveller/presentation advisor/footballer/illustrator/copy proofer/kayaker/runner/web head/daddy. Not necessarily in that order…